53.gif

Search (advanced search)
Use this Search form before posting, asking or make a new thread.
Tips: Use Quotation mark to search words (eg. "How To Make Money Online")

11-29-2020, 02:28 PM (This post was last modified: 11-29-2020 05:22 PM by Lumos.)
Rainbow HOSTING=> Stuff that you REALLY ought to know !
I've been using various hosting services since around 1998.
It has been a huge learning experience for me.
I am a webmaster for others via reseller hosting and do not sell any hosting myself.

Many times I've posted different parts of my learnings about this here at BBHF, and now I'm putting lots of that together into a single LONG post;
Also replies at this thread will be seen and answered as and when I have time to spare.

Here's the TL;DR version of all that follows here=>
Hosting and domain reg. are a very live minefield which one MUST navigate with exceptional caution !!

Those with little or no experiences in domain reg. and hosting will have no ideas about just how crooked and rotten so many of the BIG NAME providers can be - and even worse are the IMers who PRETEND to be server ops but are in reality total fakes.

Rules which I adhere to:
- Expensive vs. cheap means NOTHING in the hosting biz;
- 'Free' usually ain't any good and pretty much ALWAYS has pitfalls built-in;
- Domain reg. AND hosting are all about reliability and support - absent any of those they are difficult or even scary, so choosing well for a commercial effort is VERY important !!

Onward now - considering 'free' hosting:

I've used a bunch of free hosting deals before taking up hosting for others, and:
Most have been severe disappointments - especially 000webhost, who will ditch your account for no reason and has ZERO support for free users, so if/when that happens you are just S.O.L. - neither warning nor notification - just...gone, subdomain and all data.
I tried it twice using their subdomains, years apart and it was the same both times.